Blogs > Run to the Sun - Girls Basketball in CT

Follow all the coverage of girls high school basketball throughout the state on their way to Mohegan Sun Arena, the site of this year's championship weekend, March 19-20.

Friday, April 16, 2010

Register All-Area/All-State

The New Haven Register All-Area team will be in tomorrow's edition of the Register and the all-state team will follow Sunday.

Thursday, April 15, 2010

Register All-State

The Register's All-State girls' basketball team will be featured in the April 18th edition of the Register.

Check back for the Register's All-Area date.

Raucci To Play At Albertus Magnus

Foran senior Annie Raucci has committed to play basketball at Albertus Magnus Lions coach Scott Nails said Thursday.

Raucci, a 5-foot-9 guard, averaged 16 points and eight rebounds last season and earned All-SCC Hammonasset Division honors. Raucci was a four-year starter and scored over 900 points for her career.

Labels: , ,

Friday, April 9, 2010

CHSCA All-State

Here are the Connecticut High School Coaches' Association girls' basketball awards...

Player of the Year: Kastine Evans, Norwich Free Academy

Class LL All-State
Amber Bepko, Mercy
Cara Deroy, Hamden
Kastine Evans, NFA
Michele Gorman, St. Joseph
Sara Kelley, Newtown
Keylantra Langley, Lauralton Hall
Ashley Perez, Manchester
Casey Smith, Danbury

Class L
Kaitlin Cizynski, Pomperaug
Abigail Corning, Wethersfield
Bria Holmes, Hillhouse
Katherine Mahoney, Bacon Acacdemy
Damika Martinez, Platt
Allison Mullings, Northwest Catholic
Sarah Royals, Torrington
Courtney Schissler, Branford
Jessica Webber, Naugatuck

Class M
Amanda Adamski, Lewis Mills
Kelly Conley, Ellington
Casey Dulin, Law
Heather Framski, Woodland
Caroline Gosselin, Stonington
Brittany Martelle, Brookfield
Kristin Mooney, Ansonia
Cherelle Moore, Kolbe Cathedral
Kelly Myers, Coventry

Class S
Sarah Benedetti, Canton
Kelsey Booth, East Hampton
Alison Caless, Bolton
Kelly Coleman, Portland
Morgan Doyle, Thomaston
Rachel Landon, Parish Hill
Chelsea Mone, St. Paul
Tafanie Roye, Capital Prep

Register All-Area/All-State

Originally scheduled to be in Saturday and Sunday's paper, the release of the New Haven Register's All-Area and All-State girls' basketball teams has been postponed.

Check back for the new date.

Thursday, April 8, 2010

Borelli Out At Guilford

Megan Borelli will not return as Guilford girls’ basketball coach next season.

“She met with the girls and told them she was resigning for personal and professional reasons,” Guilford athletic director Chip Dorwin said Thursday.
Borelli said she made the decision not to return, but would not comment on the reasons behind her choice.

Borelli recently finished her third year as coach of the Indians. She also spent one season as an assistant under Karen Byrne. The Indians went 26-38 under Borelli and reached both the Southern Connecticut Conference and Class L state tournaments the last two seasons.

Labels: , ,

Sunday, April 4, 2010

Register All-Area/All-State

The Register's All-Area girls' basketball team will be in Saturday's edition (April 10) of the Register.

The Register's All-State girls' basketball team will be Sunday's edition (April 11) of the Register.


JCC Schoolgirl Classic

The 49th JCC Schoolgirl Classic will be held April 17 at the JCC at 4200 Park Avenue in Bridgeport. The Connecticut Girls East squad will face the Connecticut Girls West squad at 6:15 p.m.

The Connecticut Girls West team is: Casey Dulin, Law; Brianna Brown, King; Keylantra Langley, Lauralton Hall; Brittany Martelle, Brookfield; Chelesa Mone, St. Paul; Lauren Okafor, Hopkins; Talisha Peeler, Bridgeport Central; Courtney Schissler, Branford; Tiarrah Thompson, Kolbe Cathedral; Lindsay Karle, Lyman Hall; and Sara Kelley, Newtown. The team will be coached by Joe Mone of St. Paul and Maura Keenan of Brookfield.

The Connecticut Girls East team is: Jenniqua Bailey, Northwest Catholic; Allison Mullings, Northwest Catholic; Uju Nwankwo, Northwest Catholic; Abigail Corning, Wethersfield; Cara Deroy, Hamden; Alexa Long Waterford; Stephanie Long, Norwich Free Academy; Alexys Vazquez, Berlin; Katelyn Zarotney, Berlin; Kelly Sundberg, E.O. Smith; Shannon Samuels, Windsor; J'Voni Hilton, Career. The team is coached by Northwest Catholic's Karl Herbert and Waterford's Rob Von Achen.
Admission to the doubleheader is $10.

Labels: ,